Skip to main content

BASW England supports LGA in a call for adult social care reform

The Local Government Association has launched a campaign which sets out seven principles of reform for adult social care.

The Local Government Association, which represents councils in England, together with BASW and over 30 other organisations – including the Alzheimer’s Society, NHS Confederation and the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services - have put forward a set of key principles, which must underpin reform of social care and support considering the many lessons learned from the pandemic.

The seven principles cover vital aspects of every part of social care, support and wellbeing, including:

  • Putting people first
  • The importance of social care’s local dimension
  • Adequate and sustainable funding
  • Supporting the care workforce
  • How care is provided and commissioned
  • Health and integration
  • The scope of care and support reform

 View the full details on the LGA website


  •  Cllr James Jamieson, Chairman, Local Government Association
  • James Bullion, President, Association of Directors of Adult Social Services
  • Jeanelle de Gruchy, President, Association of Directors of Public Health
  • Kate Lee, Chief Executive, Alzheimer’s Society
  • Dr Ruth Allen, Chief Executive, British Association of Social Workers
  • Naomi Phillips, Director of Policy and Advocacy, British Red Cross
  • Anna Dixon, Chief Executive, Centre for Ageing Better
  • Kate Terroni, Chief Inspector of Adult Social Care, Care Quality Commission
  • Kathryn Hill, Director of England, Carers Trust
  • Helen Walker, Chief Executive, Carers UK
  • Rob Whiteman CBE, Chief Executive, CIPFA
  • Anna Severwright, Co-Chair, Coalition for Collaborative Care
  • Jim Boyd, Chief Executive, Equity Release Council
  • Imelda Redmond CBE, National Director, Healthwatch England
  • Deborah Alsina MBE, Chief Executive, Independent Age
  • Harry Quilter-Pinner, Associate Director and Head of the Better Health and Care Programme, Institute for Public Policy Research
  • Ben Page, Chief Executive, Ipsos MORI
  • Edel Harris, Chief Executive, Mencap
  • Paul Farmer, Chief Executive, Mind
  • Paul Marshall, Chief Executive, National Development Team for Inclusion
  • Louise Patten, Chief Executive, NHS Clinical Commissioners
  • Niall Dickson CBE, Chief Executive, NHS Confederation
  • Saffron Cordery, Deputy Chief Executive, NHS Providers
  • Vidhya Alakeson, Chief Executive, Power to Change
  • Sharon Smith and Jenefer Rees, Co-Chairs, Principal Social Worker National Network (Adults)