The British Association of Social Workers (BASW) is an independent organisation, which is governed by Council. A Board of Directors who are all BASW members and social workers.

BASW Council

Council is the governing body of BASW. Council members are Directors and liable for the management, governance and strategic direction of the Association. BASW is governed in accordance with our constitution: Articles of Association.

Council members are elected each year at the Annual General Meeting. The Council is supported by a Finance & Organisational Development Committee, a Policy, Ethics and Human Rights Committee, International Committee and National Standing Committees in each country of the UK.

Council meeting dates for 2021

  • 3rd February
  • 19th May
  • 22nd September
  • 1st December

Minutes and reports (member content)

Search for older documents

Current members

Council is the governing body of BASW and Council members are personally liable for the sound management of the Association as Directors. Find out more about the current members by visiting our Council biographies page.


  • Gerry Nosowska - BASW Chair
  • Lewis Roberts - Vice Chair
  • Ann Moir - Treasurer
  • Martin Sexton - Chair, Policy Ethics & Human Rights Committee
  • Andy Gill - Appointed Director - England Committee
  • Orlaith McGibbon - Appointed Director - Northern Ireland Committee
  • Jude Currie - Appointed Director - Scotland Committee
  • Lindsey Young - Appointed Director - Scotland Committee
  • Neeta Baicher - Appointed Director - Wales Committee
  • Christian Beech - Appointed Director - Wales Committee
  • Annie Ho - Elected Director
  • Julia Ross - Elected Director
  • Lesley Best - Elected Director
  • Mandeep Gill - Elected Director
  • Charmaine Malcolm - Co-opted Director
  • Hari Sewell - Co-opted Director
  • Camelia Chowdhury - Co-opted Director