Skip to main content

BASW Cymru social work awards 2019

The awards were sponsored by Leanne Wood, AM for the Rhondda and was attended by several Assembly Members

BASW Cymru’s 9th Social Work Awards were held on the 20th March at the Iconic Pierhead Building in Cardiff Bay. The awards were sponsored by Leanne Wood, AM for the Rhondda and was attended by several Assembly Members, including Julie Morgan, Deputy Minister for Social Services.

Julie Morgan delivered a speech praising the invaluable contribution made by social workers and the challenging environment in which they support the most vulnerable in our society.

Allison Hulmes, BASW Cymru national director, said: “It never ceases to humble me when I hear of the incredible and innovative work being undertaken by our social workers in Wales, in very tough circumstances.”

This year’s awards ceremony was enhanced by the presence of people with expertise through experience and those who use social work services.

“The joy expressed when their team won an award was wonderful to see and a testimony to the power of social work to make a difference,” said Hulmes.

Allison Hulmes addresses the crowd

Nigel Hullah, a former human rights lawyer who now has dementia, was a distinguished guest at the event. He delivered a powerful speech on human agency, dignity and the simple day to day acts of bravery shown by all those who have dementia.

The winners were:

Community Spirit – Chris Newth from Left Out Alone

For the first year a community spirit award was given to honour the work of community activists. Chris Newth has himself experienced homelessness and now works tirelessly to raise the issue of homelessness in Cardiff. Chris and his small team, which includes his wife Kelly Newth, distribute warm clothes and sleeping bags, as well as providing a listening ear and words of comfort.

Practise Assessor – John Davies works as a Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards Co-ordinator for Conwy Borough County Council.

Spirt of Social Work – Nick Andrews is the Research and Practice Development Officer for the Wales School for Social Care Research, Swansea University.

Innovative Social Worker – Amy Slater from the Family Support Team, Flying Start, Pembrokeshire County Council.

Social Work Team – The Adult Disability Service from Monmouthshire County Council

Life-time Achievement Award – Zac McBreen

Highly Commended:

Kyle Dovey – Student Social Worker Conwy Borough Council

Jayne Thomas – Community Resource Team Carmarthenshire County Council

Zac McBreen picks up the Lifetime Achievement award
Amy Slater is handed the Innovative award by BASW chair Gerry Nosowska
The award winning Monmouthshire Adult disability team