The SASW Awards were founded in 2007 to celebrate exceptional practice within the profession. Nominations are submitted by an "endorsing employer/tutor/other professional", a "nominating service user/student", and a "nominating other". 

This year's ceremony took place at the Ghillie Dhu in Edinburgh and winners were presented with awards by Minister for Children and Young People, Maree Todd MSP, who praised social workers across the country for their 'tireless' efforts.

The winners are as follows: 

Social Worker of the Year:  Morag Ranson, Children & Families, Fife Council

Social Work Team of the Year: Family Change Team Consultation Services, Perth & Kinross Council

Social Work Student of the Year: Calum Glasgow, University of Strathclyde

Practice Teacher of the Year: Eddie McAuley, Learning Network West

Lifetime Achievement for Social Work Award: Professor Viviene Cree   

Special Recognition by Users of Services: Edward McKim and Katie Matthews

Best Practice Equality & Diversity: Lorraine Ward, Asylum Roma Team, Glasgow Health & Social Care Partnership

Highly Commended: Glasgow Infant and Family Team, NSPCC Scotland, Keira Robinson, South Lanarkshire Council


Find out more about the nominees who were shortlisted, here.


Read our press release, here.