Skip to main content

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Social Work elects new committee

New faces joining the group include Lord Alf Dubs, Lord Hall, and Baroness Uddin

The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Social Work has elected new officers for the year ahead, with David Simmonds MP heading up the group as chair.

David served the last year as co-chair, along with Barbara Keeley MP, who unfortunately has had to stand down from this role to focus on other parliamentary business.

New faces joining the group include Lord Alf Dubs, Lord Hall, and Baroness Uddin. Cat Smith MP carries on as Vice-Chair, with Barbara Keely MP also on the committee.

Speaking after the Annual General Meeting of the All-Party Parliamentary Group, David Simmonds MP said: “I am delighted to be re-elected Chair of the APPG for Social Work.

"In the past year, the APPG has conducted three inquiries which we intend to launch soon. These were on integration of health and social care, the experiences of unaccompanied asylum-seeking children, and new models of children’s social care.

“These all relate to live issues in legislation right now, and I look forward to the group pushing ahead with raising the voices and experiences of social workers, and also those that use social work services.”

"This is an incredibly important APPG, and it is vital that we work cross-party to drive these issues forward.”

All-Party Parliamentary Groups (APPGs) are recognised by the UK Parliament as cross-party groups focused on specific issues. This means that just Members of Parliament and Members of the House of Lords are able to be members.

APPGs give parliamentarians the space to consider issues, host events, conduct inquiries, and push forward issues that are of concern to the group.

The APPG for Social Work is supported by the British Association of Social Workers, which acts as the secretariat for the group.

The full committee is now:

Chair: David Simmonds MP

Vice-Chair: Cat Smith MP

Vice-Chair: Lord Hall

Vice-Chair: Baroness Uddin

Treasurer: Barbara Keeley MP

Secretary: Lord Dubs