Skip to main content

Social Workers recognised in New Year Honours 2021

The honours mark achievements and service

Social workers were recognised in this years New Year Honours for their services to public service and social work.  Foster carers, social care staff, voluntary sector that work with children were also honoured. 

BASW extends congratulations to all, including:

OBE - Samantha Clayton, Principal Social Worker for Children and Families, Lincolnshire County Council. For services to Social Work.  Waddingham, Lincolnshire.

OBE – Lee Pardy-McLaughlin, Child and Family Principal Social Worker, Coventry City Council. For services to Children and to Families.  Hixon, Staffordshire.

MBE – Jacqueline Burt, Chair, Brain Injury Social Work Group. For services to People with Brain Injuries.  Cornwall

MBE- Debra Curd.  Leader, Social Work Services, Swindon Borough Council. For services to Children and to Young People.  Berkshire.

OBE – Linda Clegg, Children's Service Improvement Adviser, St Helen's Council. For services to Social Work.  Lancashire.

OBE – Professor Adele Diana Jones, Professor of Social Work, University of Huddersfield. For services to Vulnerable Women and Children.  Greater Manchester.

CBE - Sean Holland, Chief Social Work Officer, Department of Health, Northern Ireland Executive. For public service.  Belfast.

OBE – Paul Boyce, director of children's services at Wirral Council, was awarded the accolade for services to children in Merseyside.

MBE – Janice Nicholson, who has played a key role in the success of No Wrong Door for North Yorkshire County Council, has been recognised for her services to social work

OBE – Terry Fitzpatrick, the founder and director of ARC Adoption North East, receives the OBE for services to children in North East England, particularly during the Covid-19 Response. From 1989 until 2013, Terry managed family placement services for the council and specifically managed the adoption service for over 24 years. 

Knighthood - David Pearson CBE who began as a social worker for Nottinghamshire Council and was Director of Adult Social Care from 2006-19. He was President of the Directors of Adult Social Services, continued to serve as Honorary Treasurer beyond that and now acts as a mentor and wise counsellor to today’s sector leaders.

The full list of honours can be viewed here.